The Governing Board will ensure that HCCI meets its goal of providing data that can contribute to policies that reduce health care costs, improve health care quality, increase access to care, and create a sustainable health care system. HCCI Board members include distinguished experts from the academic, actuarial, and medical communities.

Learn about the Committees that help ensure adherence to our standards

Members of the Governing Board

Robert J. Town, PhD, Chairman is the James L. and Nancy Powell Centennial Professor in American Economic Principles in the Department of Economics at the University of Texas-Austin. Dr. Town is an expert in health economics, industrial organization, and applied econometrics/data science. His research primarily focuses on the intersection of government policy as well as provider and insurer competition in the health care marketplace. He is on the Board of Editors at the American Economics Journal: Economic Policy.

Stephanie J. Carlton, RN, MBA is currently an expert consultant at McKinsey & Company where she advises clients on Medicare Advantage, Medicaid, and the non-group insurance market. Previously, Ms. Carlton worked for a decade on Capitol Hill, leading work for the U.S. Senate Finance Committee on Medicare Advantage and Medicaid, as well as advising Senator John Cornyn (TX) and Senator Tom Coburn (OK) on health policy issues. As an expert on Medicare, Medicaid, and data transparency, Ms.Carlton has also spearheaded legislative efforts to increase the public availability of Medicare and Medicaid data.

Almeta E. Cooper, JD is the Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary at the Morehouse School of Medicine. Previously, Ms. Cooper was the president of the American Health Lawyers Association (AHLA) where she is now a Fellow. AHLA awarded Ms. Cooper the David J. Greenburg Service Award in 2012. She is also a member of the Advisory Board of the Women Business Leaders of the U.S. Healthcare Industry Foundation. Ms. Cooper is a graduate of Wells College and the Northwestern University School of Law.

Leemore Dafny, PhD is the MBA Class of 1960 Professor of Business Administration at the Harvard Business School. During 2012-2013, Dr. Dafny was the Deputy Director for Healthcare and Antitrust in the Bureau of Economics at the Federal Trade Commission. She currently serves on the Panel of Health Advisers to the Congressional Budget Office, on the board of the American Society of Health Economists, and as a lead advisor to the New England Journal of Medicine’s Catalyst multimedia platform. Dr. Dafny’s research examines competitive interactions among payers and providers of healthcare services, and the intersection of industry and public policy.

Jonathan Gruber, PhD is a Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Director of the Health Care Program at the National Bureau of Economic Research, the co-editor of the Journal of Public Economics, and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Health Economics. Dr. Gruber served as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy at the Treasury Department. He was a key architect of Massachusetts’ health reform effort, and in 2006 became an inaugural member of the Health Connector Board, the main implementing body for that effort. Dr. Gruber focuses his research on public finance and health economics.

Charles E. Phelps, MBA, PhD is University Professor and Provost Emeritus of the University of Rochester, is an expert in health care economics, medical technology evaluation and cost-effectiveness analysis, and health policy. Elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) and Fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research in 1991, Phelps is also the author of a leading textbook in the field (Health Economics, 5th Edition). He was Provost (Chief Academic Officer) of the University of Rochester from 1994 – 2007, and has previously served on the governing boards of five organizations (including three not for profit organizations).

Ted Prospect, FSA, MAAA is a Senior Vice President at the UnitedHealth Center for Health Reform and Modernization, where he oversees the development of new innovative health care products. Prospect recently co-authored the Health Affairs Article: “Effective Interventions For Stemming The Growing Crisis Of Diabetes And Prediabetes: A National Payer’s Perspective”. He was formerly a Principal at Hewitt Associates and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and a Member of the American Academy of Actuaries. Prospect earned his Bachelor of Science degree in applied math and business from Carnegie-Mellon University and chairs the Institute’s Data Integrity Committee.

Dale H. Yamamoto, FCA, MAAA is president of his own employee benefits consulting firm and is a past president of the Conference of Consulting Actuaries. He previously chaired the 2000 Medicare Technical Review Panel and testified before Congress on a variety of health care issues. Yamamoto has delivered speeches at a number of professional actuarial and industry meetings. He has also written several articles on health care and the textbook, “Fundamentals of Retiree Group Benefits.”

HCCI’s governing board will also work to ensure the continued growth and reliability of the database, eventually broadening the list of participating health plans and working with the Federal government to add more data from Medicaid. In addition, the governing board will work to develop a more publicly available database and a research tool for consumers.